Double Tax Treaty concluded with Malta

On 26th October 2009 the Isle of Man signed a comprehensive double taxation agreement (DTA) with Malta which meets the OECD international tax standard on transparency and effective exchange of information, thus continuing the Isle of Man's policy of creating better economic and political relations with international partners.

The Isle of Man has now entered into 18 DTAs and expands on the Island's network of international tax co-operation agreements. Key DTAs have now been signed with European nations including the UK, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Denmark, Sweden, Belgium, Finland, Ireland, Estonia, Norway and Iceland.  Other DTAs have been entered into with the US, Australia, New Zealand, Greenland and the Faroe Islands.

A DTA is the standard agreement between countries to remove double taxation obstacles to the development of economic relations, and in doing so facilitate the exchange of goods and services and movements of capital, technology and people. A DTA also acts to prevent tax evasion, and implements the OECD agreed international standard on tax transparency and exchange of information.

30th October 2009